



• Board of Directors Executive Committee

January 9, 2001 Board Meeting

Subject

9-12

Authorize the General Manager to implement as recommended the Award of Excellence Program for Fiscal Year 1999/2000

Description

In May of 1998, the Board of Directors authorized an Award of Excellence Program that provided an incentive payment for exemplary or once in a lifetime accomplishments of the Unrepresented Managers. At the December meeting, the Board authorized the new program as follows: (1) at the discretion of the General Manager, the new award would be expanded to include any staff member of any employee unit that provides the District with exemplary performance either within a project or as a project manager, or outstanding performance within a program versus only unrepresented staff; (2) there would be no limit to the number of employees identified, and (3) the current cap of \$20,000 per reward would be replaced with awards ranging from \$1000 to \$7,5000, and (4) the total program budget would be raised from \$60,000 to \$100,000.

The Award of Excellence for Fiscal Year 1999/2000 is presented as recommended by the General Manager and Assistant General Manager for consideration by the Board to be awarded to the following individuals for exemplary performance with projects and programs such as rate structure analysis, Inland Feeder project, Competitive Action Team coordination, customer support program, purchasing process improvement, equal employment opportunity program, water quality initiatives, State Water Project, Diamond Valley Lake project, engineering and design recommendations, and change-management initiatives:

<u>Name</u>	<u>Amount</u>	<u>Name</u>	<u>Amount</u>
Tim Blair	\$7,500	Daniel Tempelis	\$7,500
Dianne Felton	6,000	Mike Herring	6,000
David Gledhill	5,000	Arlene Arita	5,000
Shane Chapman	5,000	Nona Edelen	3,000
Dorothy Okoye	2,000	Edward De La Paz	2,000
Terry Raymond	2,000	Allan Preston	2,000
Bob Muir	2,000	Jack Safely	2,000
Jim Green	2,000	Suresh Radhakrishnan	2,000
Ed Winkler	2,000		

Additionally, the following employees will be awarded \$1,000 each for exemplary service in a program or project through recommendations for business process improvements, improved or continued customer support, development of the Capital Investment Program, improving external relations, managing diversity awareness projects, coordinating water management programs, implementation of financial processes, and the development of the Community Partnering program:

Allen, Herb	Gudino, Vic	Nafsey, Jim
Arabshahi, Jay	Hirsch, Steve	Neudeck, Randall
Bannerman, Harry	Hoffman, Richard	Norris, Keith
Brackbill, Craig	Jazmadarian, Nina	Rhind, Terry
Brooks, Marilyn	Loera, Rodolpho	Shamma, John

Caldera, Diane	Long, Michael	Tellers, Tobin
Chow, Raymond	Malave, Albert	Toney, Joseph
Daber, Jim	Marks, Dirk	Webb, Christel
Dominguez, Irene	Martinez, Joe	Wheeler, Margie
Dymally, Edgar	Matamoros, Alfredo	Wheeler, Ronald
Eaton, Brad	Mirone, Joe	Young, Ethel
Gregg, Harry	Moore, Solomon	

Policy

Award of Excellence - authorized December 2000

Board Options/Fiscal Impacts

Option #1

Program budget authorized by Board of Directors in December 2000 was \$100,000 per fiscal year. This year's program totals \$98,000.

Fiscal Impact: \$98,000

Option #2

Do not authorize Award of Excellence Program awards for Fiscal Year 1999/2000. **Fiscal Impact:** \$0

Staff Recommendation

Option #1

1/3/2001 General Manage Date